Many people get frustrated when messages have been deleted, especially if other users are doing so in order to hurt or harass them.
This post will cover deleted messages and what you can do about them.
Can You See a Deleted Discord Message?
In 2018, Discord publically announced on Twitter that once a Discord message had been deleted, it would be deleted forever. Their servers are set up to hold on to that extra information, so once it has been deleted, neither you nor the writer can retrieve the message again.
Holding on to that information would also be a privacy breach and goes against their terms. So, if a user deletes their messages, you cannot recover deleted messages.
Can Discord Server Owners See Deleted Messages?
You cannot see deleted Discord messages on servers even if you are the Discord server owner. The rules for these messages fall under Discord’s previous statement that it is gone for good once it is deleted.
With a bot (such as Dyno Bot mentioned below), owners can see that a message has been deleted but not the content of the message.
Can You Report a Deleted Discord Message?
You need to be able to show the message to Discord to report it. You must also submit information about the user’s account so that they can act.
If you are being harassed on Discord, instantly take screenshots of the messages. You will need to follow our guide on how to report messages to Discord. You must submit some user IDs and show evidence of what has been said. Try to act as quickly as you can before the message is deleted.
You can also show the message to the server admin to see how they handle the situation.
Use the Dyno Bot to See When Discord Messages Are Deleted
Dyno Bot is one of the best Discord bots you can install on the platform. One of its features is that you can view notifications about things that happen on the server.
Its features include the following:
People Joining or Leaving the Server
The Dyno Bot will keep track of everyone who has joined or left the server. You can scroll through the names to see who has come or left.
People Posting or Deleting Messages
The Dyno Bot will keep track of everyone who has posted or deleted messages on the server. If the people in your server have stated that someone wrote something against the rules, then deleted it, you can check your log.
Unfortunately, these logs only show that messages have been added or deleted. They don’t show what the posted or deleted messages were about.
You can avail yourself of the premium or free version of the Dyno Bot. To do so, go to their website to add Dyno Bot to your Discord server.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will Your Messages Be Deleted if You Delete Your Discord Account?
No. Your messages will remain on the server if you delete your Discord account. This means that your messages will still be visible even to Discord users who are new to the server.
Can I Use a Third-Party Tool to See Deleted Messages?
Some tools, like BetterDiscord or a message logger, are said to let you view deleted discord messages, but you should not attempt to use them. It’s entirely against Discord’s rules and terms of service to do so.
Can You See Historical Discord Server Logs?
Yes. Most users have found this helpful feature when you accidentally leave Discord servers.
We will have to accept that deleted messages on Discord are gone forever. So, think twice before deleting a message of yours.
On the other hand, if you have received an abusive message, take a screenshot to file a report to the server owners, moderators, or Discord itself.